Apply Now

SANS Awards

Past Winners:

2018 - Parkinson, C., Kleinbaum, A.M. & Wheatley, T. (2017).  Spontaneous neural encoding of social network position. Nature Human Behavior, 1(5), 0072.
2017 - Lockwood, Patricia L., Apps, M.A.J., Valton, V., Viding, E., Rosier, J.P. (2016). Neurocomputational mechanisms of prosocial learning and links to empathy. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, 113, 9763-9768.
2017 - Stolier, Ryan M. & Freeman, J.B. Neural pattern similarity reveals the inherent intersection of social categories. Nature Neuroscience, 19, 795-797.
2016 - Jack, Rachael. E., , Garrod, O.G.B., Schyns, P.G. (2014) Dynamic facial expressions of emotion transmit an evolving hierarchy of signals over time. Current Biology, 24, 187-192. 
2015 - Preston, Stephanie D. (2013). The origins of altruism in offspring care. Psychological Bulletin, 139, 1305-1341.
2014 - McKell Carter, R., Bowling, D. L., Reeck, C., & Huettel, S. A. (2012). A distinct role of the temporal-parietal junction in predicting socially guided decisions. Science, 337, 109-111.
2013 - Yarkoni, T., Poldrack, R. A., Nichols, T. E., Van Essen, D. C., & Wager, T. D. (2011). Large-scale automated synthesis of human functional neuroimaging data. Nature Methods, 8, 665-670.

Innovation Award

The SANS Innovation Award recognizes a particular article authored by a SANS member and published in a scholarly outlet that makes a contribution likely to generate the discovery of new hypotheses, new phenomena, or new ways of thinking about the discipline of social and affective neuroscience. Any kind of innovative contribution (including developments of new theory or methods, including analytic methods; innovative applications of existing methods; and creative application of methods from other fields) is eligible. Contributions may be judged innovative and generative even before they have generated substantial empirical findings. The award selection will focus on a contribution's conceptual innovation and potential to motivate new research and further conceptual investigation. Nominations for the Innovation Award are due to the award committee (comprised of the past President of the society and a member at large) in late Fall/early Winter of each year (deadlines to be announced each year). Finalists will be announced to the society at the annual meeting, where electronic voting will determine the winner. The recipient of the award is the first author, and current members of the executive committee are ineligible to receive the award. If a member of the award committee is an author on any nominated paper, they will recuse themselves and be replaced with another executive committee member.

Distinguished Scholar Award

Past Winners:

- Betsy Murray
2017 - B.J. Casey
2016 - John Cacioppo
2015 - James J. Gross
2014 - Elizabeth Phelps
2013 - Ralph Adolphs

The Distinguished Scholar Award recognizes the broad scope and potentially integrative nature of scholarship in social and affective neuroscience. It honors a scholar who has made distinctively valuable research contributions across his or her career in areas by significantly advancing our understanding of the biological basis of social and affective processes or expanding the core of social and affective neuroscience discipline. The committee selecting the distinguished scholar is comprised of the President of the society and one member at large.

Early Career Award

                Past Winners:

                2018 - Leah Somerville

The Early Career Award recognizes an early-stage investigator who has made significant contributions to Social and Affective Neuroscience terms of outstanding scholarship and service to the field. The winner of the award will receive a $500 prize and be invited to give a short talk at the annual SANS meeting. Candidates will be evaluated by a committee comprised of the past, current and future Presidents of the society. To be eligible for the award, candidates must be an active member of the society (within the past 3 years) and within 10 years of completing their Ph.D. at the time of the nomination. The deadline for the Early Career Award is in winter (deadlines to be announced each year). The following materials should be submitted for consideration to 1) a one-page cover letter that highlights the candidate's research program, service and other accomplishments, 2) the candidate's CV, 3) three representative publications and 4) two letters of recommendation. The first three items should be combined into a single PDF and emailed to the email address above. The letters of recommendation should be sent to the same address, with the name of the candidate in the subject line.