Social & Affective Neuroscience Society
SAN Society - Recent

SANS — Awards

Innovation Award — The SAN Innovation Award recognizes a particular article authored by a SAN member and published in a scholarly outlet that makes a contribution likely to generate the discovery of new hypotheses, new phenomena, or new ways of thinking about the discipline of social and affective neuroscience. Any kind of innovative contribution (including developments of new theory or methods, including analytic methods; innovative applications of existing methods; and creative application of methods from other fields) is eligible. Contributions may be judged innovative and generative even before they have generated substantial empirical findings. The award selection will focus on a contribution's conceptual innovation and potential to motivate new research and further conceptual investigation. Nominations for the Innovation Award are due to the award committee (comprised of the past President of the society and a member at large) in late Fall/early Winter of each year (deadlines to be announced each year).

Past Winners:
2017 - Lockwood, Patricia L., Apps, M.A.J., Valton, V., Viding, E., Rosier, J.P. (2016). Neurocomputational mechanisms of prosocial learning and links to empathy. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, 113, 9763-9768.
2017 - Stolier, Ryan M. & Freeman, J.B. Neural pattern similarity reveals the inherent intersection of social categories. Nature Neuroscience, 19, 795-797.
2016 - Jack, Rachael. E., , Garrod, O.G.B., Schyns, P.G. (2014) Dynamic facial expressions of emotion transmit an evolving hierarchy of signals over time. Current Biology, 24, 187-192.
2015 - Preston, Stephanie D. (2013). The origins of altruism in offspring care. Psychological Bulletin, 139, 1305-1341.
2014 - McKell Carter, R., Bowling, D. L., Reeck, C., & Huettel, S. A. (2012). A distinct role of the temporal-parietal junction in predicting socially guided decisions. Science, 337, 109-111.
2013 - Yarkoni, T., Poldrack, R. A., Nichols, T. E., Van Essen, D. C., & Wager, T. D. (2011). Large-scale automated synthesis of human functional neuroimaging data. Nature Methods, 8, 665-670.

Distinguished Scholar Award — The Distinguished Scholar Award recognizes the broad scope and potentially integrative nature of scholarship in social and affective neuroscience. It honors a scholar who has made distinctively valuable research contributions across his or her career in areas by significantly advancing our understanding of the biological basis of social and affective processes or expanding the core of social and affective neuroscience discipline. The committee selecting the distinguished scholar is comprised of the President of the society and one member at large.

                Past Winners:
                2017 - B.J. Casey
                2016 - John Cacioppo
                2015 - James J. Gross
                2014 - Elizabeth Phelps
                2013 - Ralph Adolphs

Early Career Award — The Early Career Award recognizes an early-stage investigator who has made significant contributions to Social and Affective Neuroscience terms of outstanding scholarship and service to the field. The winner of the award will receive a $500 prize and be invited to give a short talk at the annual SANS meeting. Candidates will be evaluated by a committee appointed by the President of the society. To be eligible for the award, candidates must be an active member of the society (within the past 3 years) and within 10 years of completing their Ph.D. at the time of the nomination. The deadline for the Early Career Award is in winter (deadlines to be announced each year). The following materials should be submitted for consideration to socialaffectiveneuroscience (this email address is at gmail dot com): 1) a one-page cover letter that highlights the candidate's research program, service and other accomplishments, 2) the candidate's CV, 3) three representative publications and 4) two letters of recommendation. The first three items should be combined into a single PDF and emailed to the email address above. The letters of recommendation should be sent to the same address, with the name of the candidate in the subject line.

                Past Winners:
                2018 - Leah Somerville